H1

H1-Honor Student Diversity and Development [1]. No matter where I teach, I know that I am going to have a classroom filled with students who are different from each other. Diversity is all around us, even if it may not seem like it at first glance. This is because diversity goes so much deeper than skin color alone [1]. One must consider age, gender, religion, language and so much more when thinking about the ways in which we are different. This applies to teacher candidates in a special way, because they must recognize these differences in their students and send the message that they deserve to be celebrated [1]. For my EDU 2300 course, Diversity & the Classroom, I was asked to create something that showcases what diversity means to me. I chose to create a “Diversity Quilt”, where each square represents a different aspect of diversity [2].

"Diversity Quilt"

“Diversity Quilt”

Connecting this project to the HOPE standard, I believe that in order to honor student diversity and development, teacher candidates must view diversity as a quilt, and consider all the pieces that it is made up of, not just one [3]. Working on this project has not only been a way for me to reflect on my experience in this course, but has helped me expand my personal definition of diversity [4]. As a future educator, I can encourage my students that their differences should be valued, because they are what make a person unique [5]. I plan on getting to know every unique student of mine so I can better appeal to his or her specific needs in the classroom [5]. This is a topic that is of great interest to me, and in the future I plan on developing my knowledge by doing more research, reading books and articles, and even taking more classes [6].

References:

Banks, J., & Banks, C. (2013). Multicultural Education: Issues and Perspectives (8th ed., p. 107, 338). Boston: Allyn and Bacon.

Diversity Acrostic Poem. (n.d.). Retrieved December 5, 2014, from http://garrison-michigan.army.mil/EEO/diversity.htm

Lewis, R., & Doorlag, D. (2011). Teaching Students with Special Needs in General Education Classrooms (8th ed., p. 66, 70, 76). Upper Saddle River, NJ.: Pearson.

*All references cited were used in the Diversity Quilt project only

This entry was posted in H1 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

