2.3 Reflecting on Teaching

2.3 Reflecting on Teaching – Teacher makes an accurate assessment of a lesson’s effectiveness and the extent to which it achieved its instructional outcomes and can cite general references to support the judgment [1]. The best way to improve a lesson plan is to use feedback to revise it [1]. My evidence for this post is a writing about reading lesson I have written and revised for my EDU 3200 course [2].

Shared Reading copyShared Reading copy 2

I have learned from this the importance of being specific in writing lesson plans [4]. Additionally, having a clear assessment of student voice at the end of the lesson (exit ticket) is a good way to check if students are meeting the learning target [4]. Using this standard in creating and revising my lesson plans will not only benefit me but will ultimately support my students in their learning [5]. Being more specific with the lesson objectives and assessment will help students make better connections than before [5].After receiving my first submission of this lesson, I received some helpful feedback from both my professor and peers. In the feedback, I was told three main things: 1) Be more specific in the connections I am making with the text. 2) Be more specific with assessment at the end and refer to the learning target. 3) Include a word work activity. I took this feedback and added to my lesson as necessary. I included my word work activity in the beginning of the plan, added some specific connections to make to the text as I’m reading, and changed my end of lesson assessment. Here I revisited the learning target to create an exit ticket as an assessment of student voice. By taking the feedback I received and using it to revise my lesson I am practicing using this standard in my work [3].

I have also seen this standard be put into place during my internship. Sharing ideas with other teachers and emphasizing community is something that both my mentor teacher and I value. Along with weekly PLC meetings, my mentor teacher meets with her neighboring teacher every day to discuss planning, lessons, and ideas. In these meetings, they will often review how certain lessons went the previous year(s), then discuss ways to revise and adjust in order to make them more effective [2]. This is a great way for them (and myself) to reflect on their teaching and analyze what’s working and what needs to be changed. By actively participating in these meetings, I learning how I can apply this standard in the future [3]. Moving forward, I plan to seek out opportunities to plan and review with fellow teachers, receive feedback regularly, and use that feedback to create better lessons [6]. This is a skill I plan to continue to develop and improve on throughout the remainder of my internship and in my career as a teacher.

 

This entry was posted in 2 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

